Well, the weekend wasn’t as low-key as I was hoping it would be…

Friday night we went to see Anna play baseball.  She’s so funny, she got to catch in the last inning, but really just sat there.  I got a kick out of it!  Since we were in Grove City, I wanted Graeter’s, so we headed over there and they had the whole street blocked off!  There was sidewalk chalk and other things for kids to do, so Livi had fun.  She tried to do the hula-hoop, but wasn’t quite getting it.  It was still cute to watch. 

Saturday morning we got up and went to the Hilltop Bean dinner.  It’s an annual thing on the West Side of Columbus, always the 4th Saturday of June.  Our church has done a kids area for a few years so I thought it would be fun to take Livi.  Little did I know I would be helping…
At first there were no kids around, because the inflatables we had rented were inflated.  The generator running them died.  After about an hour someone had gotten a replacement and the bounce house, slide and basketball hoops were back up and running.  It was almost instantly a mob scene of kids.  Which also meant that our face painting table had a huge line!  There was 1 guy from our church drawing, and I felt bad that he had no help, so I went over and helped him…and sat there for probably a good 90 minutes.  I had no idea I would be there that long!  It was fun though, it was something I didn’t think I could do, but most of the basic things we offered were just that, basic.  Rainbows, flowers, hearts, smiley faces, spiders (yuck!), lightning bolts.  They were pretty easy.  Then 1 girl started the butterfly and I wasn’t sure how to do that at first, but I figured it out quickly!  We had a few kids as for the full face ones, but we didn’t have enough supplies for that, nor did I have the talent, lol!  We did do a few cat faces, coloring the nose and drawing some whiskers.  All in all, it was fun, I’m glad I could help.  Next year I’ll sign up for it and be a little more prepared for the crowd!
Saturday night we had talked about going downtown to the Columbus Commons (a new park area), they were having a free family night.  But we were just too tired so we stayed home.  It was our anniversary, but we had decided we weren’t going to do anything because we didn’t have a sitter, which was fine with us.

Sunday…church was interesting.  At least the 1st 20 minutes were!  When we walked in (and we were late like usual) I heard a kid in the bathroom next to our soundroom crying, but I thought that they had been bad and they were getting a spank.  So I thought nothing of it.  About 10 minutes later we’re sitting in the auditorium listening to announcements and all of a sudden I hear this banging and screaming!  I thought for sure someone was getting beaten!  So I got up to check it out and it was coming from that same bathroom.  I knocked on the door and asked what was going on and through the hiccuping I heard “I don’t have any toilet paper!”.  So Jason got a knife and unlocked the door and I found a poor little boy just sitting on the toilet, shaking and crying.  I got his mom and she got him taken care of, but I know that poor kid was in shock or something!  The rest of the day was not as interesting.  I did take a nap, which led to not being able to fall asleep until after 2 this morning…what’s weird though is that I don’t feel as tired as I do when I get more sleep.  Guess my body is getting ready for all nighters!

~ by cmschneider25 on June 27, 2011.

Leave a comment